Food {Dairy Free Rice Pudding}

Oh my oh my oh my! A friend told me that moving house and going through a divorce are the 2 most stressful things in life. Luckily for me (and the man) this week it was the former. You see, we decided to move house as it would be more convenient for his work and my Uni (I got in by the way, very pleased). I can honestly say it was exhausting. Imagine if you will, 2 tired slightly obsessive, getting childish, control freaks trying to build beds and wardrobes (7 hours later). It’s almost been 2 weeks since we moved here and we are finally, slowly getting there, but my god I never want to move again. My friend was right, moving is darn stressful and I was pretty much an extra from The Walking Dead the past week. So what is the best remedy for someone feeling like they just want their mum to look after them? A duvet, sofa, cuppa tea and comforting warm rice pudding. Please don’t get my started on the popular tinned brand, Simon believes this stuff is “just as good as any”. I’m sorry but if you feel the same I may just have to force feed you homemade until you change your mind. Well, I can’t prove it to everyone but you can. So tie up your boyfriends and bake them:

Almond Milk Rice Pudding
You’ll Need for 2ish
-60g pudding rice (short grain)
-600ml almond milk
-2 teaspoons maple syrup or honey
-1 teaspoon of ground nutmeg
– 1/2 teaspoon of ground cinnamon

20130909-090137.jpg I think nutmeg is one of the most beautiful and mystifying spices

Pre-heat oven to 150•c
Mix all ingredients together in a heatproof tin or bowl. Place in the oven and bake for 1 hour 30 minutes stirring every 30 minutes or so.

20130909-090400.jpg
Once ready serve with jam (I LOVE this Super Jam) or anything that takes your fancy. Comforting, milky, creamy Rice Pudding. Enjoy :-)

20130909-090511.jpg

One response to “Food {Dairy Free Rice Pudding}

What do you think?

