Food {Grain Free Crêpe Style Pancakes}

IMG_7041

What do you expect when someone says, “Pancakes”?

If you’re American or Canadian you’re probably thinking of a thick, fluffy stack of buttermilk pancakes dripping with maple syrup and filled with blueberries. But if like me you are English, the word ‘Pancake’ brings home memories of thin, slightly crispy, crêpe style pancakes, rolled up and filled with brown sugar with a drizzle of lemon juice.

My mission has been to find grain/gluten free alternatives to my favourite food and although I’ve found scores of recipes for grain free American style pancakes, (which I love but find a little heavy on my tummy) I couldn’t find any on English style pancakes. :( Yes it upset me a little that I couldn’t share in pancake day celebrations, but next year there is no need to be dismayed because I have made this recipe especially for those who can’t eat or want to cut down on grains and gluten. They are also incredibly nutritious and healthy. So enjoy!

IMG_7040

Bohemian Grain, Gluten and Dairy Free Crêpe Pancakes

Makes 4-6 pancakes

You will need:

– 40g ground almonds

– 20g arrowroot

– 20g ground flaxseed

-1/4 teaspoon bicarb of soda

– 2 medium eggs

– water or milk

-Mix together your dry ingredients. Put to one side.

-Whisk the eggs, add the dry ingredients and mix well. Allow to rest for about 5 minutes.

– You will get a thick mixture. At this point I added water a bit at a time until I had a thin, smooth mix. (about 1/2 a cup of liquid but this can vary)

-Heat a drizzle of oil in a frying pan, add about a ladle full of mix to the pan and quickly ‘roll’ your pan until it’s thin. Cook on one side until small bubbles form on top, flip and cook for another 30 seconds.

-Serve right away with lemon and sugar or anything else that takes your fancy, these are a few of mine!

IMG_7036

What do you think?

