Fashion DIY {Hey Short-dee}

Oh Bohemian Creature, how I have neglected you. I have had a little blogging break due to illness, but I am in ship shape now, so back on the wagon. Not blogging in the past 3 weeks has really made me realise how writing this blog is important to me. It gives me a sense of achievement and something I am proud to say is mine.

Anyways. I am off on holiday in a couple of weeks and am in desperate need of some spring/summer pieces. England is experiencing a non Spring, which results in me not wanting to spend money on new shorts, skirts and short sleeve tops. Instead I decided to update a pair of denim shorts, and it was such an easy process I thought I’d share it with you.

{DIY Patched Shorts}

You’ll Need:

-Denim Shorts

-Fabric Off-Cuts (I used an old scarf)

-Cotton Thread

-Scissors

-Pins and a Needle

IMG_6459

1. Start by cutting a patch that is large enough to cover the pocket. Sew this into the bottom of the pockets hem and push back inside. Sew the rest of the patch onto the pocket.

IMG_6460

 {I quite like the slightly frayed edges here}

2. Cut two strips of fabric that measure about 4” wide with a length that matches the length of the front of the shorts leg. Fold the fabric in half widthways and pin to the bottom front of the shorts. Sew in place, et voila!

IMG_6461

What do you think?