Decor {Arranging Flowers}

IMG_6307

Flowers can brighten a room instantly. I always feel more relaxed and content when I have fresh flowers in the house. You don’t have to spend a lot of money, and if you know a few tips and tricks your flowers can look freshly cut for a couple of weeks.

Here I will share how I go about arranging and keeping my flowers fresh.

What you’ll need:

-Bunch of flowers (I do buy mine from the supermarket. I just choose a colour pallet I like)

-Plant food

-Vase

-1 litre warm water

-Scissors

IMG_6301

Pour water and plant food into your vase and stir.

Unwrap your flowers and cut off any leaves under the waterline, then cut at least a cm off the bottom of each stem.

Group them into verities.

IMG_6302

 I started with carnations, these ‘bulk out’ the bunch. Place them evenly around the outer circle of the vase.

IMG_6304

Next roses. Put them in-between the carnations. At this point I take a step back, look at the flowers to see if anything is uneven. I usually cut the roses so they are only slightly lower then the carnations.

Next I use a ‘feature’ stem, in this case gypsophila and place it right in the middle.

IMG_6305

Also it lasts forever if you dry it.

Display your flowers somewhere they can get some sun, but not direct sun and they’ll last for a least a week.

IMG_6306

You may be able to get another week and a half out of them by changing the water after the 1st week. Fill with clean warm water and stir in 2 teaspoons of sugar. Place your flowers back in and enjoy for a bit longer!

What do you think?

